Chesterton Tribune



CHS debate team victorious at Munster three team competition

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton High School Debate team outscored its opponents with a final score of 90 compared to Munster’s 70 and West Lafayette’s 60.5, in recent competition at Munster.

This was the second straight regular season tournament win for the team. The largest portion of the team’s points came from the event on Congressional Debate. Split into two chambers at the varsity and novice level, the event counted for double the points in the final total, a fact that was in Chesterton’s favor. In varsity chamber A, Creighton Gaff, a senior, won the tournament and was followed by his fellow senior and teammate Megan Daye, who placed second. Sophomore Sid Augustyn took third. Paul Petro also won third place in the second chamber of varsity Congress. Sanjana Raj was able to place first in her novice chamber, her third tournament win in the first four competitions. Mikayla Herko, another freshman debater, placed seventh.

JD Cory and Devin Michael won first place in the varsity division of Policy debate. This was the first tournament victory for the juniors. Additionally, the team of Ben Hoham and Matt Jewison (5th) and the team of Madison Simms and Sofia Winski (6th) also placed. At the novice level the teams of Ryan Donovan and Ethan Dibble and Shae Hisaw and Jackson Fleming came in fifth place and sixth place respectively.

Sophomores Jenna Aguilar and Nick Hanson continued their three tournament trend of placing second in the novice division of Public Forum. Charlie Skube and Violet Joseph came in eighth place in their first tournament together. At the varsity level, Grace Whah and Katelyn Balakir (3rd), Azeez Lakhani and Branden Wong (5th), and Connor Wantuch and Ryan Day (6th) all took home awards. This was the last tournament on the topic about South Korean missile defense; the next month will be spent debating the subject of universal background checks for all gun transfers.

Finally, Chesterton had a number of students earn awards in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Hannah Geiss was the highest placing at the varsity level, taking third while Sam Winski came in fourth in his first competitive tournament for the event. Hunter Stewart was the lone novice debater recognized from Chesterton, he placed fifth. This event also switches topics in November and will begin to discuss the obligations that wealthy nations have towards improvised nations.




Posted 11/3/2017




Search This Site:

Custom Search