Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate team qualifies two for National Tournament

Back To Front Page


The first leg of qualification for the Speech and Debate National Tournament was concluded Saturday at Concord High School in Mishawaka. This tournament determined the participants for the event of Congressional Debate, next weekend will determine the qualifiers for the other debate events of Lincoln-Douglas (LD), Policy, and Public Forum (PF).

This yearís tournament was only able to hold a ĎHouse of Representatives,í which meant that only two spots were open for qualification. Chesterton was able to take both of the available qualifying spots. The final round is scored by three judges who rank competitors from 1 - 15th, with one being the best. The two qualifiers were tied with a combined total of eight among the three judges. After the tiebreaker it was determined that Creighton Gaff took home the honorary title of first place, with Paul Petro being named runner-up and the second representative of the Northeast Indiana District.

Gaff and Petro are both juniors and this is the second time each of them have qualified for the national tournament. Last year Petro was a qualifier in the same event; while Gaff was able to qualify in Domestic Extemporaneous Speaking.

The third place finisher, Jason Collins from Canturbury missed qualifying for the second year in a row when his final tally from the judges added up to 16. Chestertonís Maddy Wilson came in as the second alternate and Megan Daye came in fifth.

Other Chesterton students that qualified for the final round were Branden Wong, Devin Michael, Azeez Lakhani, Emily Krygoske, and Zach Mullins. Chesterton took home the team sweepstakes award for the tournament.

Also held at the same time was the Concord debate tournament. Chestertonís PF teams took the top five spots in an unusually small division for the event. The two person teams in order of placing were Hayden Hodge and Mark Wilcox, Blake Holsclaw and Josh Sensibaugh, Kaylinn Woolever and Ryan Day, Johny Mario and Kevin Jugovic, and Katelyn Balakir and Nate Scheerer.

Katrina Balon went undefeated to take second place in LD debate. She lost the tie breaker to Sarah McGuire from LaPorte High School. Hannah Geiss earned third place overall. The team of Sajag Agarwal and Luke Gregurich came in second place in policy debate while Ben Hoham and Connor Wantuch placed fourth overall. Finally, Chestertonís lone World School Debate team places second to the team from Valparaiso. Chestertonís team in the newest debate event was comprised of Kardiay Kirk, Casey Roberts, Aaron Drew, and Shane Fabbri.





Posted 1/16/2017





Search This Site:

Custom Search