Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate team qualifies six more for National Tourney

Back To Front Page

On consecutive weekends, the Chesterton High School Debate team qualified contestants for the 2014 National Tournament, to be held in Overland Park, Kansas.

Qualification for Congressional Debate occurred this weekend at Fort Wayne Carroll HS. There were four open qualification spots; two in each chamber of Congress.

In the Senate, Mikaela Meyer dominated the competition to secure her third consecutive district championship in this event. Meyer’s ranks from five judges totaled six, while second place totaled eighteen.

Andrea Drygas was able to capture the top spot in the House of Representatives, ensuring her participation at the National Tournament. This was the second year in a row that Drygas qualified in the House. The Congressional Debate team is coached by first year teacher/coach Josh Coots. Both of the remaining qualification spots were taken by Carroll High School.

The Chesterton Congressional team was awarded the overall team sweepstakes award, defeating Carroll by a score of 30 to 27. Andrew Caratini was named second alternate in the Senate. Don Reinert (4th), Eric Richardson (5th), Corinne Leopold (6th), and Abby Burke (7th) all placed in the House of Representatives. Burke and Drygas were named ‘outstanding presiding officers’ in the House.

Meyer and Drygas will be joined by four debaters who qualified at Munster High School last week as the result of a weather makeup. The team of Zach Bogich and Alex Genetski as well as the team of Tim Vincent and Joel Peterson qualified for the National Tournament in Policy Debate. This is the second consecutive Policy debate title for Bogich and the first for the other three competitors.

Policy Debate is coached by teacher/coach Chris Lowery.

Kaley Brown and Emily Percifield were first alternates and Nadia Mario and Katherine Bolek were second alternates.

The Speech qualification for the National Tournament is the last round of qualification and is to be held in three weeks at Plymouth High School. The team currently has 10 students qualified.


Posted 2/17/2014