Chesterton Tribune


CHS Debate team places second overall at LaPorte Invitational

Back to Front Page




After a three week hiatus, the Chesterton High School Debate team earned second place overall at the LaPorte invitational this past Saturday.

Chesterton scored a total of 101 points, only seven behind tournament champion West Lafayette.

Policy debate had a particularly strong day of competition. In the varsity division, Andrew Jugovic and Alex Genetski (7th), Humaira Khan and Elaine Tagert (6th), and Kati Green and Andrew Caratini (4th) all achieved records of 3-1.

In the novice division, Eddie Young and Adam Rundzaits were the only undefeated team in the novice division and consequently took home first place.

Joel Peterson and Tim Vincent (4th) and Sana Ahmad and Ayesha Khan (2nd) also went 3-1 and placed.

Chesterton’s only other tournament championship went to Joy Joll, who won the novice Lincoln-Douglas division with a perfect 4-0 record.

At the varsity level, Eric Zhong (5th) and Eric Dreischerf (4th) only lost one round of competition.

In Congressional debate, Mikaela Meyer (3rd), Andrea Drygas (4th), Eric Richardson (5th), and Aubrey Christofersen (8th) all placed in the varsity division. Jimmy O’Dor (7th) was able to place at the novice level.

Miranda Whah and Taryn Trusty came in seventh in varsity Public Forum. Tristen Manuzak and Victoria Bain came in third at the novice level.

The LaPorte tournament provided particularly difficult competition from all of the top teams throughout the state.



Posted 12/10/2012