Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate team has strong start on season

Back To Front Page


The high school Debate season is underway and Chestertonís team has achieved quite a bit of success in the first two weeks of competition. This weekend the team took first place at Kokomo High Schoolís tournament.

The team was led by newcomers in the novice division, with Ethan Dibble and Ryan Donovan taking first place in policy, Sanajan Raj winning the Congress division, Hattie Hoham winning first for Lincoln-Douglas, and the team of Nick Hansen and Jenna Aguilar as runners-up in public forum.

In the varsity division of Lincoln-Douglas Camma Duhamell was the tournament runner-up after going undefeated. Elli Didonna followed with third place, and Ronak Shah placed sixth.

The team of Katie Brady and Shae Hisaw earned fourth in novice policy, while Madi Simms and Sofia Winski were fifth in the varsity division.

In varsity Public Forum Grace Whah and Katelyn Balakir placed third, Ryan Day and Connor Wantuch took fifth, and Aaron Drew and Emily Krygoske placed eighth. Luke Vetrockzky and Alex Szmutko came in seventh at the novice level.

Paul Petro was the third best congressional debater at the varsity level, while Sid Augustyn placed sixth. Finally, Chestertonís world school debate team, comprised of Amber Johnson, Anekah Fish, and Indy Loving, were fifth.

Compete at West Lafayette

The prior week saw the team competing at West Lafayette High Schoolís tournament. Madi Simms and Sofia Winski were the only tournament champions, in varsity policy, from Chesterton. Devin Michael and JD Cory were third in the same event.

At the novice level of policy debate the teams of Ethan Dibble and Ryan Donovan (6th), Gianna Galente and Karina Martinez (7th), and Josh Drew and Juan Ponce (8th) all placed.

Paul Petro earned third in varsity Congress, followed closely by Megan Daye in fourth. Sanajan Raj was the runner-up in the novice division.

In public forum debate Aaron Drew and Kardiay Kirk placed fourth in varsity, while Ryan Day and Connor Wantuch came in seventh. Nick Hansen and Jenna Aguilar were again runners-up at the novice level with a perfect record.

In Lincoln-Douglas, Hannah Geiss was fourth while novice Hattie Hoham placed seventh. The world school team again came in fifth place and had Owen Cowsert compete with the trio of Amber Johnson, Anekah Fish, and Indy Loving. There was no sweepstakes team award given at the competition.




Posted 10/23/2017




Search This Site:

Custom Search