Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate team gets a good start

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton High School Debate team has gotten off to a fast start through their first three tournaments. Last weekend the team competed at West Lafayette’s invitational tournament. The team was led by a dominating effort from its Congressional debaters.

Megan Daye won the varsity version of the event, followed closely by teammates Paul Petro (2nd), Creighton Gaff (4th), and Maddy Wilson (8th). Sid Augustyn took top honors in the novice division, followed by Emily Krygoske in second place, and Jessica Maatouk, who came in sixth place in her first tournament.

Public Forum (PF) debate had three teams place in the top eight. Kevin Jugovic and Johny Mario (4th), Branden Wong and Azeez Lakhani (6th), and Hayden Hodge and Katelyn Balakir (8th) all took home honors while the novice team of Madison Wrigley and Sofia Winski were tournament runner’s up in the novice division.

Camma Duhamell (3rd) led the way for Chesterton in varsity Lincoln-Douglas (LD) and was followed by teammates Katrina Balon (4th) and Madi Ghoreishi (7th). Leaha Estes (7th) was Chesterton’s only novice to place in LD. The final event of Policy debate saw JD Cory and Connor Wantuch came in 3rd place while Keagan Wong and Sydney Ghoreshi were 5th in the varsity division.

All three teams placed in the novice division in the order of Tino Martinez and Shane Fabbri (3rd), Dustin Bucher and Madison Simms (4th), and Devin Michael and Ben Hoham (6th). There was no sweepstakes team award for the tournament.

In the weekend prior the team took home the sweepstakes trophy at the Valparaiso High School tournament. Among the largest highlights for the tournament were Kaylinn Woolever and Ryan Day going undefeated to win varsity PF. The teams of Eli Winski and Balakir (3rd) as well Hodge and Mark Wilcox (4th) placed.

The novice division was won by Grace Whah and Zach Mullins, but also saw Bella Jennings and Owen Cowsert (2nd) as well as Wrigley and Winski (3rd) place. Balon came in second in the varsity division of LD. Bucher and Simms won novice policy with Martinez and Fabbri coming in second place. Luke Gregurich and Sajag Agarwal were the top policy team for Chesterton in fourth place.

Congress resulted in a number of runner-up placings for CHS. In varsity, Petro took home the honor while Krygoske and Augustyn tied for second in novice.

The tournament season started three weeks ago at Penn High School. Hannah Geiss (1st) and Zac Claahsen (2nd) took top honors in varsity LD. Petro won the varsity Congress while Sid Augustyn came in first in novice. Anekah Fish was the runner up at the novice level.

The team took three of the top four spots in varsity PF with the teams of Hodge and Wilcox (2nd), Woolever and Day (3rd), and Balakir and Nate Scheerer all going undefeated.



Posted 11/8/2016





Search This Site:

Custom Search