Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate team dominant at Penn High

Back To Front Page


Chesterton High School faced off against the majority of teams from the northern third of Indiana at the Dawn Troyer Commemorative tournament, hosted by Penn High School.

CHS continued its dominance in Lincoln-Douglas debate despite a topic change this month. Debating the publicís right to know about a public officialís personal life; the team took four of the top seven places in the varsity division. Jonathan Sumita won his first tournament of the year, followed closely by teammates Zachary Mullins in second place. Both debaters were undefeated on the day. Elli Didonna came in sixth while Bella Auricchio was seventh. Elia Livovich was CHSís highest placing novice Lincoln-Douglas debater. Her 3-1 record earned her third place overall due to tiebreakers, while Zoe Swanson (5th), Kylie Brickley (8th), and Nathan Osborn (9th) all compiled the same record.

The team also won the novice division of Policy debate. Milena Veltri and Mark Jewison earned their first ever tournament title, remaining undefeated throughout the day. Hattie Hoham and Ben Hoham were the runner-upís in the varsity division; followed by the teams of Ethan Dibble and Ryan Donovan (3rd), Madi Simms and Gianna Galanate (4th) and Shae Hisaw and Jackson Fleming (7th).

Similar results followed in Public Forum; another event that switched topics during the past week. Now discussing the high prices of pharmaceutical drugs, Kardiay Kirk and Rhianna Ritz were tournament runner-upís, followed closely by Luke Vetrosky and Nick Hanson (3rd). Bella Jennings and Sal Minnear (4th), Azeez Lakhani and Sofia Winski (5th), and Emma Ekblaw and Jessica Maatouk (8th) rounded out the placings. Alexis Ioannidis came extremely close to notching their first tournament victory in the novice division. They finished in second place while the teams of Connor Mathias and Trinity Irving were third and Sam Burris and Ryan Hickman were fifth.

Congressional Debate saw Finn Babjak continue a strong start to his season as he took home third place. Ethan Kroft had his best showing of the year and snagged second place in his chamber of novice congress. Savannah Hutchinson and Sara Vasquez each earned fifth-place in their respective congress chambers. There was no team sweepstakes award given out at the tournament.



Posted 11/12/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search