Chesterton Tribune



CHS Debate ends year with individual championships

Back To Front Page

Only eight of the 18 teams registered made it to the LaPorte Debate Invitational this past weekend.

Chesterton made the treacherous travel worth it, taking home individual titles in two events. 

The varsity congressional debate team dominated the day, with seniors Andrew Caratini and Mikaela Meyer sharing the overall event title with an unbreakable tie. Andrea Drygas turned in a performance that finished third overall.

Chestertonís other title came in the novice policy division, with Liz Bolek and Sajag Agarwal going undefeated for the title.

At the varsity level, Nadia Mario and Katherine Bolek placed fifth overall.

Chesterton students were able to finish undefeated in each of the other events, but lost due to tiebreaker decisions.

Abby Burke came in second place in Varsity Lincoln-Douglas; followed by Joy Joll in fourth.

It was Miranda Whah and Taryn Trusty who had the undefeated day in the varsity division of Public Forum.

At the novice level, Chase Pickford and Keegan Wong (3rd) and Mark Wilcox and Hayden Hodge (4th) both placed.


Posted 12/20/2013