Chesterton Tribune                                                                                   Adv.

CHS business students headed to state contest

Back to Front Page


This past Saturday, January 16, the Chesterton High School Business Professionals of America team hosted the District 1 Regional Leadership Conference in which nine area schools competed in business related events.

Students compete to qualify for the State Leadership Conference on March 7-9 in Indianapolis.

Of the 47 CHS students participating in the District 1 event, 36 will advance to the state competition.

The top five places in the following individual events advance to the state conference:

•Fundamental Accounting: Liz Koch- 4th, Nathaniel Oddi-6th, Amanda Robey-8th

•Advanced Accounting: David Stibgen-2nd, Taylor Dore-6th

•Computerized Accounting: Ryan Tarnowski-1st, Ryan Thomalla-2nd, Kaci Watson-3rd

•Payroll Accounting: Kaci Watson-2nd, Liz Koch-4th, Tyler Hedrick-5th, Allison Lara-6th, Trent Schreiber-8th, Elizabeth Zeese-9th, Tom Roberts-10th

•Advanced Spreadsheet Applications: Nathaniel Oddi- 2nd

•Banking and Finance: Allison Lara-1st, Matt Jones-3rd, Amanda Erxleben-4th, Alex Hartney-6th, Jordan Peterson-9th

•Keyboarding Production: Hayley Miller-5th

•Fundamental Word Processing: Sam Fadel-6th

•Advanced Word Processing: Olivia Gordon-2nd

•Legal Office Procedures: Brendan Freeze- 2nd

•Medical Office Procedures: Haley Virden- 4th

•Basic Office Systems: Tyler Fabbri-2nd, Aris Ringas-5th, Rachel McCrum-6th and Kira Geairn-7th

•PC Servicing and Troubleshooting: Matt Lahti-4th.

In the following individual performance events, the top three places advance to state:

•Digital Media Production: Nicole Nowak-1st; Brittany Nay-2nd, and Lauren Sergent-3rd.

•Entrepreneurship: Alex Hartney-1st, Erin DeVaney-2nd, Jon Vincent-4th, and Jordan Peterson-5th. Graphic Design Promotion: Max Carstens- 3rd and Isabelle Endsley-4th

•Interview Skills: Natalie Veselica-1st, Ryan Thomalla-4th, and Shelbie Sullivan-5th.

•Advanced Interview Skills: Erin DeVaney-1st

•Human Resource Management: Amanda Erxleben-2nd, Jesse Mudd-3rd, and Matt Jones-5th.

•Extemporaneous Speech: Sabena Sriplo-2nd

•Prepared Speech: Rachel McCrum-1st, Michael Leopold-2nd, and Sabena Sriplo-5th.

In the team events, the top two places advance to the state contest:

•Financial Analyst: Taylor Dore, Tyler Hedrick, Tom Roberts, and David Stibgen -1st Global Marketing: Ryan Tarnowski and Matt Lahti-2nd

•Video Production: Robert Carstens, Bryce Klawson, and Nicole Nowak-2nd

•Small Business Management: Shelbie Sullivan, Helena Correa, and Amanda Robey-2nd

•Presentation Management: Brittany Nay and Lauren Sergent-2nd

•Administrative Support: Michael Leopold, Randi Hickman and Jon Vincent-2nd.

Also, automatically advancing directly to state is the Parliamentary Procedure team of Olivia Gordon, Isabelle Endsley, Hayley Miller, Natalie Veselica, Tyler Fabbri, and Haley Virden.

The CHS Business Professionals of America would like to thank the judges, graders, and proctors for this event. Rebecca Gierke is the CHS advisor and District 1 coordinator.


Posted 1/22/2010




Custom Search