Chesterton Tribune



Chesterton High School student press honored

Back To Front Page

The Chesterton High School Student Press presented its annual Quill & Scroll induction and publications awards recently.

English teacher/Sandscript advisor John Hayduk gave the 31st annual W.R. Canright Outstanding Senior Journalist Award to Katherine Smith of Singing Sands.

Hayduk and English teacher/Singing Sands advisor John Thanos awarded the 14th annual Kathryn Elizabeth Pokorny Student Press Memorial Scholarships to Zachary Barnes (Ball State University), Daniel Vincent (Southern Illinois University), and Leslie Taubert (Indiana-Purdue University/Indianapolis) of the Sandscript, and to Singing Sands’ Katherine Smith and Payton Norlington, who will attend Grace College and Valparaiso University, respectively.

Donna Trowbridge of the Sandscript was presented with a summer workshop partial grant to the Indiana University High School Journalism Institute in Bloomington by Hayduk, while Thanos gave grants to the Ball State University Summer Media Academy in Muncie to Marissa Ciesielski, Alyssa Clemento, Tatiana Flores, Avery Nunez, Whitney Schreiber, Katherine Smith, and Olivia White of Singing Sands.

Also honored were new and current members of the Kathryn Elizabeth Pokorny Chapter of the International Honorary Society of High School Journalists (Quill and Scroll) and other staff members of the Sandscript and Singing Sands.

Quill and Scroll inducted eight new members and recognized five current members during a ceremony emceed by president Katherine Smith and sponsor John Hayduk.

Those inducted from the Sandscript included Zachary Barnes, Christian Martin, Megan McGue, Donna Trowbridge, and Katelynn Williams, while those from Singing Sands included Alyssa Clemento, John Thanos, and Olivia White.

Receiving updated pins were Adriana Cavlovic, Lauren Lecy, and Daniel Vincent of the Sandscript, and Whitney Schreiber and Katherine Smith of Singing Sands. Senior members receiving honor certificates included Zachary Barnes and Daniel Vincent of the Sandscript, and Katherine Smith of Singing Sands, who also was presented with a graduation honor cord for her eight semesters of outstanding journalistic work.

Service certificates and major awards for the Sandscript and Singing Sands were presented by Hayduk and Thanos, respectively.

Gregory Mochen of the Sandscript received the South Bend Tribune Most-Valuable Newspaper Staffer Award; he, along with other Michiana high school journalists, will be featured in the Tribune in June.

Receiving outstanding-in-class honors for the Sandscript were Erin Grimes, outstanding freshman; Kathleen Williams, outstanding sophomore; Lauren Lecy, outstanding junior; and Daniel Vincent, outstanding senior.

Among other Sandscript staffers honored were Leslie Taubert, best cub reporter; Zachary Barnes, best new staffer; Lauren Lecy, most committed staffer; Adriana Cavlovic, most improved staffer; Donna Trowbridge, most professional staffer; and Katarina Gregurich, most promising designer.

For producing quality work in a unassuming manner, the Sandscript’s Carlos Martinez, Christian Martin, Megan McGue, and Evan Pearson received Subtle Quality awards. For spending notable time after school working on their publication, Lauren Lecy and Gregory Mochen of the Sandscript received Midnight Oil awards.

For Singing Sands, Katherine Smith was named most-valuable staffer.

Receiving outstanding-in-class honors for Singing Sands were Renee Woudema, outstanding freshman; Marissa Ciesielski, outstanding sophomore; Avery Nunez, outstanding junior; and Katherine Smith, outstanding senior.

Among other Singing Sands staffers honored were Whitney Schreiber, commitment to quality award; Olivia White, eagerness to learn award; Katherine Smith, leadership award; and Alyssa Clemento and Tatiana Flores, mental attitude awards.

Editors-in-chief for the 2014-15 newspaper and yearbook were announced at the end of the event. Gregory Mochen will be EIC for the Sandscript, while Whitney Schreiber will be EIC for Singing Sands.



Posted 5/30/2014