Chesterton Tribune



Chesterton High School debate team dominates in two meets

Back To Front Page

The high school debate team split itís squad on Saturday, sending a small group of Public Forum debaters to Buffalo Grove, a northern suburb of Chicago, to see competition from Illinois. Chesterton was the talk of the tournament after it was announced that they had three of the four qualifying teams in the varsity division.

After Chesterton advanced from both sides of the bracket, the teams of Salman Lakhani/Matt Eggers and Tyler Colvin/Nate Burris were declared co-champions of the tournament. Hannah Vasquez/Jessica Ratel-Khan were semifinalists for the tournament. Lakhani (8th), Eggers (7th), and Colvin (6th) all received individual speaker awards.

Chesterton took two novice teams to the tournament and advanced both into elimination rounds, where they were forced to debate during semifinals. The team of Mark Wilcox/Hayden Hodge advanced to the finals, where they lost to a team from Carl Sandburg HS in the final round on a 2 – 1 decision. Hunter Warren/Nate Scheerer finished as semifinalists for the tournament (3rd place). Scheerer was the sixth overall speaker, Warren was third, and Hodge took the top speaker honor in the division. The tournament did not award a Sweepstakes award, but had over 30 schools in attendance.

The majority of the team spent the weekend on the campus of Indiana University Northwest. Chesterton took three of the top four spots in varsity Policy debate. Tim Vincent/Joel Peterson were the tournament champions with Nadia Mario/Katherine Bolek (3rd), and Alex Genetski/Zach Bogich (4th) also placing. Liz Bolek/Sajag Agarwal continued their successful first year with a second place finish in the novice division.

Freshman Quinlan Doolin was the novice division of Lincoln-Douglas. This marks her first tournament win of the season. Zach Claashen (5th) and Trevor Krygier (6th) also contributed to a strong day for the team. At the varsity level, Corinne Leopold (5th) and Don Reinert (6th) received recognition for their performances.

Chesterton was particularly dominant in the novice division of Public Forum, taking the top four spots. Johnny Mario/Kevin Jugovic were named tournament champions for the first time, followed by Nicki Achor/Lennon Metz (2nd), Clay Lembcke/Drake Moss (3rd), and Chase Pickford/Keagan (4th). In the varsity division Miranda Whah/Taryn Trusty were the tournament runnerís up while Hayden Biggs/Victoria Bain (7th) and Nate Gowen/Natalle Kezy (8th) also placed.

No sweepstakes were given at the IUN tournament, which was attended by 12 schools from around the state.



Posted 12/10/2013