Chesterton Tribune

Awards go to CHS academic competition team members

Back to Front Page


Chesterton High School hosted their annual Academic Competition Awards on Tuesday evening. All the academic groups were recognized for their participation and coaches in each area reviewed the highlights of this school year.

Academic Decathlon

The Academic Decathlon team advanced to state and placed third in the Super Quiz at State. Members of the Academic Decathlon are Jon Vincent, Max Kirchner, Mikaela Meyer, Clarissa Frederick, Joe Helminski, Kayla Jones, Kelsey Reinhart, Jonathan Rensberger and Ashley Frencl. Their coach is Dale Hewitt.

Individual medal winners at state were Joe Helminski, Jon Vincent and Clarissa Frederick.

Junior Jon Vincent was honored as a Duneland Academic Conference (DAC) All Star for his contributions to the Academic Decathlon.

Academic Super Bowl

The Academic Super Bowl team won the DAC tournament, the Porter County tournament at Purdue North Central and the Social Studies team advanced to the state competition. The Social Studies Academic Super Bowl team of Ryan Gorman, Jon Vincent, Clarissa Fredrick, Bradley Levi and Mikaela Meyer came in sixth place in their division at the state competition. The subject of this year’s competition was Latin American History from 1700 to 1990. The competition covered everything from Spanish colonialism to modern dictatorships.

Members of the Academic Super Bowl team are Sean Miller, Jake Pruitt, Mikaela Meyer, Jon Vincent, Ryan Gorman, Nathan Brock, Ashley Irzyk, D.J. Gallagher, Clarissa Frederick, Bradley Levi and Taryn Trusty. Their coaches are Dale Hewitt, Anna Zervos, Jennifer Killingbeck and Eileen Haggerty.

Seniors Ryan Gorman, D.J. Gallagher and Ashley Irzyk; and juniors Jon Vincent, Sean Miller and Jake Pruitt were honored as DAC All Stars for their contributions to the Academic Super Bowl team.

Science Olympiad

The Science Olympiad team placed second at the Indiana University Northwest Regional. At the regionals, the group had numerous first through fourth place winners in all areas advancing them to the state competition.

At the state competition hosted at Purdue University Calumet, the group took sixteenth place as a team. Individual first and second place awards, respectively, went to Stephanie Buehler, Dayna Gallo and Mavric Price for Mission Possible and to Eric Dreischerf and Alex Hanson for Helicopters.

Members of the Science Olympiad team are Sara Filipek, Jon Vincent, Eric Dreischerf, Max Kirchner, Spencer Gordon, Alex Hughes, Dayna Gallo, Alex Hanson, Autumn Miller, Stephanie Buehler, Kerbi Bowen, Matt Jones, Maryssa Engstrom, Brady Wade and Mavric Price. Their coach is Kim Stahura.

Quiz Bowl

The Quiz Bowl team had an excellent year. Varsity team members are Ryan Gorman, Jake Pruitt, Jon Vincent, Sean Miller and Spencer Gordon. Junior varsity team members are Danny Vincent, Jessica Cavallaris, Eric Dreischerf, Kaz Zaranski, Jackie Santos, Matt Jones, Austin Johnson and Soli Zaranski. Their coach is Anna Zervos.

The varsity team participated in the Lakeshore Television program Making the Grade. The team took first place in the competition and each member won a five hundred dollar scholarship.

The team also participated in the Rotary Club State Quiz Bowl competition in Culver. The CHS team won the area competition with a 8-1 record. The team qualified for state. At the state competition the team made it to the quarter finals taking seventh in the state.

Senior Ryan Gorman was honored as DAC All Star for his contributions to the Quiz Bowl team.

Super Mileage Club

The Super Mileage Club created a fuel-efficient super mileage car that the group took to Indianapolis to compete at the Indiana Mathematics, Science, and Technology Education Alliance Super Mileage Challenge. The race was held at Lucas Oil Raceway Park, on a .686-mile track. The challenge hosted 32 schools with a total of 41 cars participating in the challenge. This was the 16th year for the competition and Chesterton High School averaged 446.89 miles per gallon -- good enough for third place.

Members of the Super Mileage Club are Mark Browiak, Declan McNicholas, Mavric Price, Brandon Biddle, Sarah Franiak, Nick DeLaney, Kyle Jimenez, Sydney Kutz, Joshua Luketich, Kalvin Ravn and Timmy Trowbridge. Their advisors are Lance Nolting and Wayne Herltz.

Mathematics Team

Chesterton High School had another successful season in mathematics competitions. In the MATH FAX competition CHS competed in various levels with much success.

The top three finishers for CHS in Algebra I were Edward Kaczmarek and Mikaela Meyer (tied for first) along with Chris Krause, Eric Zhong and Galen Wong who tied for third. This group finished second in their division and seventh in the nation. In Geometry Andrew Ralph finished first, Matthew Lutze finished second and Joshua DeVries finished third to complete the team that ranked third in the division and ninth nationally.

In the Algebra II division, Joseph Pejril won first place, Joseph Helminski was second and Amanda Erxleben was third to help the team to a third place finish within the division and a seventh place finish nationally.

In the top class, Advanced Mathematics, Jacob Pruitt was the top scorer, Ryan Gorman was second and Sean Miller finished third in route to a team finish of fourth in the division and tenth nationally.

Other CHS mathematics competition winners include school winners Keith Radzik in American Mathematics Competition level 10 and Matthew Borowiak in AMC 12. Eric Dreischerf was the school winner in yet another mathematics competition called Trig Star conducted at CHS by the American Society of Land Surveyors. Eric won a $100 savings bond and is in competition for a $1000 savings bond based on his time with a perfect score.

Membera of the Math team are Matthew Borowiak, Austin Johnson, Jacob Pruitt, Keith Radzik, Ryan Gorman, Sean Miller, Edward Kaczmarek, Mikaela Meyer, Chris Krause, Eric Zhong, Galen Wong, Joseph Pejril, Joseph Helminksi, Amanda Erxleben, Andrew Ralph, Matthew Lutze, Joshua DeVries and Eric Dreischerf. Their coach is Tommy Berry.

Spell Bowl

The Spell Bowl team competed at the Area Spell Bowl and the DAC Spell Bowl. Members of the Spell Bowl team are Bradley Levi, Will Levi, Nick Peterson, Dominique Levy, Micheala Sosby and Ashley Frencl. Their coach is Jennifer Killingbeck.

Japan Olympiad

CHS won the state championship in the fourth-year division and was runner-up in the third-year division at the Japanese Olympiad of Indiana at Valparaiso University. This was the twelfth Japan Bowl/Japanese Olympiad state championship for CHS.

Members of the Japan Olympiad team are Celia Mooradian, Ryan Gorman, Brandon Moore, Abi Lindstedt, Ashley Irzyk, Jessica Lohse, Brooke Kravitz, Grayson Wingate, Donny Puent, Lajos Gazdag, Kaz Zuranski, Addison Dempsey, Trika Laster, Jimmy Rogers, Molly Cannon and Jack Kurfman. Their coaches are John Sparks and Aki Tsugawa; and assistant coach is Aiko Kawano



Posted 5/18/2011




Custom Search