Chesterton Tribune



All Duneland Schools earn states gold star designation for counseling

Back To Front Page


Each of the nine schools in the Duneland School Corporation were named among the 104 schools receiving the 2017 Indiana Gold Star School Counseling Awards from the State Department of Education this morning.

Chesterton High School retained its designation having been the one Duneland School named in the 2016 recipients. Meanwhile, the other eight schools -- Bailly Elementary, Brummitt Elementary, Jackson Elementary, Liberty Elementary, Yost Elementary, Liberty Intermediate, Westchester Intermediate and Chesterton Middle School -- all received the gold star for the first time.

The Gold Star designation signifies the school counselor-led steering team has met specific criteria identified for the development of a comprehensive school counseling model.

To receive the award, schools undergo a rigorous process to raise student achievement and improve overall student success by creating local school-community advisory groups that review student data, set specific student goals, and commit to maximizing the time and skills of the school counselor.

Duneland Superintendent of Schools Ginger Bolinger told the Chesterton Tribune that the administration is grateful for the support that the Duneland School Board has given to counseling programs and its comprehensive standards.

“We’re certainly happy about the recognition from the state but we are more excited for our counseling programs continuing their excellent service in all our buildings,” Bolinger said. “Our board recognizes school counseling and how important it is for our children.”

Created in 2004, the Gold Star designation has been awarded to nearly 300 Indiana elementary, middle and high schools.

“Receiving the Gold Star designation is evidence of the collaboration it takes among educators and staff for students to be successful,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction, in a statement released this morning.

“I want to recognize and commend these schools for understanding the tremendous impact school counselors and school and community members have in helping our students become fully prepared for life beyond high school,” McCormick added.

A total of 104 Indiana schools received the 2017 designation, of which 22 renewed their Gold Star status. The official award presentation will take place in November at the Indiana School Counselor Association fall conference.

Other Porter County schools receiving the gold star are Boone Grove High School and Wheeler High School.


Posted 9/8/2017




Search This Site:

Custom Search