Chesterton Tribune

CHS honors academic competition standouts

Back to Front Page





Chesterton High School hosted their annual Academic Competition Awards Monday evening. All the academic groups were recognized for their participation and coaches in each area reviewed the highlights of the year.

Academic Decathlon

The Academic Decathlon team advanced to state and placed sixth in the large school category. Members of the Academic Decathlon are: Jon Rensberger, Joe Helminski, Eric Zhong, Amanda Erxleben, Logan Haussman, Brady Wade, Abigail Brown, Taylor Deardurff. Their coach is Dale Hewitt.

Individual medal winners at state were Senior Jon Rensberger, Junior Brady Wade and Sophomore Taylor Deardurff.

Senior Jon Rensberger, junior Brady Wade and freshman Logan Haussman were honored as Duneland Academic Conference (DAC) All Stars for their contributions to the Academic Decathlon.

Academic Super Bowl

The Academic Super Bowl team won the Porter County tournament at Purdue North Central. At the Area competition, Science, Fine Arts and Interdisciplinary took first places and Math took second place. The subject of this year’s competition was Colonial and Revolutionary America.

Members of the Academic Super Bowl team are: Sean Miller, Jake Pruitt, Mikaela Meyer, Jon Vincent, Lindsay Gorman, Jonah Pruitt, Joe Horn, Jocelyn Lipscomb, Andrew Holba, Caroline Puntillo, Elaine Tagert, Maryssa Engstrom, Ben Moy, Joe Pejril. Their coaches are Dale Hewitt, Anna Zervos, Jennifer Killingbeck and Eileen Haggerty.

Seniors Jon Vincent and Sean Miller were honored as DAC All Stars for their contributions to the Academic Super Bowl team.

Science Olympiad

The Science Olympiad team placed first (in class A) high school division at the IUN Regional Competition. Every team member earned at least a medal.

At the State competition at IU the team placed 11th. Medal winners include: Eric Dreischerf and Logan Krantz with first place in Gravity Vehicle and fourth place in Robot Arm. Autumn Miller and Alex Hanson took fourth place in Rocks and Minerals.

Team members are Eric Zhong, Matt Petrovich, Christopher Maatouk, Autumn Miller, Alex Hanson, Addison Dempsay, Alex Hughes, Logan Krantz, Maryssa Engstrom, Eric Dreischerf, Galen Wong, Sara Filipek, Matt Jones, Jon Vincent, Dayna Gallo and Patrick Teall. Their coaches are Kim Stahura and Jack Neuliep.

Quiz Bowl

The Quiz Bowl Varsity team won the area competition and placed fifth at the State tournament.

The Junior Varsity team was undefeated for the season winning both the area competition and the DAC tournament.

Senior Jon Vincent was honored as a DAC All Star for his contributions to Quiz Bowl.

Varsity team members are: Jake Pruitt, Jon Vincent, Sean Miller, Austin Johnson, Eric Dreischerf and Sean Miller. Junior varsity team members are: Mike Anderson, Jessica Cavallaris, Jackie Santos, Don Reinert, Soli Zaranski, Drew Bazar, Danny Vincent and Kaz Zaranski. Their coach is Anna Zervos.

Super Mileage Club

The Super Mileage Club created a fuel-efficient super gas mileage car that the group took to Indianapolis to compete at the Indiana Math, Science, and Technology Education Alliance (IMSTEA) Super Mileage Challenge. The race was held at Lucas Oil Raceway Park, on a .686 mile oval track. The challenge had 30 schools participate, with 40 cars from all over Indiana. This was the 17th year for the competition, and the Chesterton High School team's car averaged 363 miles per gallon, which garnered 5th place.

Team members of the Super Mileage Club are: Brandon Biddle, Nick Delaney, Sarah Franiak, Aaron Coen, Sydney Kutz, Josh Luketich, Steve Norman, Kalvin Ravn, Tim Trowbridge, Jacob Jackson, Taryn Trusty, Donald Dutcher, Alex Panozzo, Taylor Hayman, Matt Murfitt, and Gabby Belcher. The team's faculty advisors are Lance Nolting and Wayne Herlitz.

Mathematics Team

Chesterton High School had another successful season in their mathematics competitions. In the MATH FAX competition CHS competed in various levels with much success. The top three finishers for CHS in Algebra I were Eric Noe in first place, Timothy Vincent in second place and Joel Peterson, Kara Miecznikowski and Nathan Poczekay all tied for third place. This group finished third in the state and fifth in the nation. In Geometry Christopher Krause finished first at CHS as well as the division. Cory Moore, Josie Tolin and Mary Miller all tied for 2nd at CHS as well as the division. This group finished first in the state as well as fifth in the nation. In the Algebra II division, Andrew Ralph won first place at CHS and second place in the division, Antonio Kincaid was second in the school and third in the division while Benjamin Moy and Joshua DeVries finished tied for third in the school. This group finished second place in the state and fifth in the nation. In the top class, Advanced Mathematics, Jacob Pruitt was the top scorer, Matt Borowiak was second and Hannah McCafferty finished third in route to a team finish of fourth in the division and eleventh nationally.

Other CHS mathematics competition winners include school winners Ben Westergren in American Mathematics Competition level 10 and Joseph Pejril in AMC 12. Autumn Miller was the school winner in yet another mathematics competition called Trig Star conducted at CHS by the American Society of Land Surveyors. Autumn wins a $100 savings bond and is in competition for the state winning of $2000 savings bond based upon her score and time in the competition. Their teacher/sponsor is Tommy Berry.

Spell Bowl

The Spell Bowl team competed at the Area Spell Bowl and the DAC Spell Bowl. Members of the Spell Bowl team are: Will Levi, Dominique Levy, Darius Dilosa II, Alisha Whittaker, Emily Hewitt, Maria Hewitt and Mikaela Meyer. Mikaela Meyer and Will Levi were standout competitors, both spelling 10 words correctly in the season. The team earned eighth place at the DAC competition. Their coach is Jennifer Killingbeck.

Japan Olympiad

The CHS Japanese Olympiad team won the state championship in the second-year division, was the third place finisher in the third-year division and finished fourth in fourth-year at the Japanese Olympiad of Indiana at DePauw University in Greencastle, IN. This was the thirteenth Japan Bowl/Japanese Olympiad state championship for CHS.

The Japanese Olympiad of Indiana is an academic competition for second, third and fourth-year students with categories including speaking, culture, kanji (Chinese characters), proverbs, listening, history, and onomatopoeic expressions.

The CHS second-level team of Chris Maatouk, Garrett Lee and Monika Segovia defeated Valparaiso and Bloomington North in the final round of the twenty one-team divisions. The other second-year team of Lilly Hull, Evelyn Miller and Natalie Wozniak turned in a strong performance as well.

The third-year team of Addison Dempsay, Molly Cannon and Jimmy Rogers was third in the third-year division. The team narrowly lost to Michigan City and Valparaiso in the final round.

Jessica Lohse, Brooke Kravitz and Grayson Wingate just missed making it to the final, losing out in a tie-breaker and finishing fourth. This team has finished in the top four each of their three years in the competition.

Some 49 teams from 13 high schools competed in this year’s competition. During the competition, team members had an opportunity to participate in Japanese modern and traditional cultural activities, which included tea ceremony, traditional games, and other activities. Their coaches are John Sparks and Aki Tsugawa.


Posted 5/15/2012