Chesterton Tribune

Chesterton High School debate team wins state for record 18th time

Back to Front Page





The State Debate Championship has returned to Chesterton as the CHS debaters successfully reclaimed the trophy that one year ago eluded them.

The sweepstakes results reflected a close battle that was not decided until the final rounds were over. Twenty eight schools competed with over 200 debaters and the point totals were as follows: Chesterton 73; West Lafayette (last year’s champions) 63; Munster 51. Ft. Wayne Northrup came in fourth with 23 and Valparaiso fifth with 22. This is Chesterton’s 18th State Championship, while West Lafayette has won it five times.

Among the highlights of the two day tournament, all four debate events had three preliminary rounds that began Friday evening and Saturday morning. Debaters had to “break” to the elimination rounds that began with octafinals, or the top 16. This was single loss elimination.

In Public Forum debate Mike Hadley and Tyler Fabbri were unbeaten and were the State Champions, defeating West Lafayette in the final round. Syed Shah and Jordan Hoover and John Poracky and Nathan Erxleben made it to quarter finals. Paige Martin and Anthony Zeese competed in prelims.

In Lincoln-Douglas debate Megan Adamczewski made it to semifinals; Ankur Chawla to quarterfinals, while Tom Geairn and Arlan Brooks competed in prelims.

In Policy debate Greg Gentry and Alex Steciuch made it to semifinals; Manhar Grewal and Siva Muthusamy made it to quarterfinals; and Rachel Marvin and Jessica Povlinski and Kailey Paglia and Chasity Mottinger made it to octafinals.

In Congressional debate Kathleen O’Keefe placed fifth in the Super Senate Finals; Aris Ringas placed eighth in the Super Senate Finals; Tristen Comegys competed in the final round chamber; Erika Mihalek competed in semifinals; and Aaron Allshouse made it to semifinals as a presiding officer.

The debate team was accompanied by coaches Chris Lowery, Scott Woodhouse, and Jim Cavallo along with parents, team support, and graduates.

“This was a tremendous win by our debaters. All season long West Lafayette, Munster, and Chesterton have been rotating sweepstakes’ wins. They are worthy opponents and I am sure they will be back in the hunt next year. For now I hope that our debaters enjoy their accomplishment. They really worked hard to earn it,” said coach Jim Cavallo.


Posted 2/19/2008