Chesterton Tribune


Duneland YMCA honors volunteers and staff

Back to Front Page




Tuesday, January 15, the Duneland Family YMCA held its annual Recognition dinner at Sand Creek Country Club to thank staff and volunteers for making 2012 a success.

Over 130 people filled the room, celebrating the end of a successful year and welcoming the year to come. The evening began with good-byes to exiting board members and welcoming incoming board members through a formal installation.

Vickii Brock and Tom Roberts were presented with awards of appreciation for their service as board members. Though they are stepping down as board members they plan to continue their involvement as Y committee members.

Bob Welsh installed Christy Jarka, Adam Easter, Gregg Mohoi, and Bryan Woodruff as members of the Duneland Family YMCA Board of Directors. They join returning board members Mike Babcock, Jane Delligatti, Rich Gardner, Bonnie Gaston, Kristen Jackson, Dr. Nicky Jackson, Tricia Lahey, Janna Mullen, Pam Strudas, Mike Sutter and Laurie Wehner-Evans.

The 2013 officers are Laurie Wehner-Evans as President, Janna Mullen as Past President, Kristen Jackson as Secretary, and Mike Babcock as Treasurer.

YMCA Board members are volunteers who assist in financial development and policy making. Volunteers of the Y are the backbone of the organization.

Luella DeWulf was presented the Volunteer of the Year Award for her continued involvement in the Y and her participation at the 2012 Dancing Like the Stars Event.

Tristen Comegys, Marketing Coordinator, received the 2012 Employee of the Year Award.

Each year, the directors and coordinators at the Y choose recipients for the Extra Mile Award which is awarded to those employees and volunteers who have gone above and beyond their call of duty. The recipients of the 2012 Extra Mile Award include Mike Anton, Fred Barbian, Adriane Barton-Damsch, AJ Bayliss, Darla Bayliss, Penny Bigger, Jason Bond, Kay Colon, Victoria Comegys, Jon Downs, Sean Dunkle, Adam Easter, Amber Erazo, Ryan Glassman, Melissa Griffith, Caitlyn Hasek, Emily Hoge, Holly Hommey, Keith Houghteling, Mike Hughes, Sarah Hrunek, Lauren Hunt, Karen Kenney, Thomas Kinsey, Jody Klein, Terri Lagenour, Ryan McGary, James Monik, Salina Montes, Chris Napier, Marijane Olson, Tom Olson, Trina Quinn, Kirk Redman, Joe Rice, Ben Roberson, Manual Rodriguez, Jeannette Sosnowski, Joe Szymanski, Kayla Pomeroy, Suzanne Radzik, Vicky Stevers, Jenn Thompson, Erik Toth, Ken Vaughn, Justin Wallar, Melissa Webb, and Tim Welsh.

The Duneland Family YMCA is a United Way of Porter County Partner Agency, located at 215 Roosevelt St., Chesterton. For information:



Posted 1/18/2013